Attorney General Gansler to Speak at Burton Awards Luncheon for Finest General Counsel


April 23, 2013

New York, New York: The Burton Awards, a program in association with the Library of
Congress, announced that Attorney General Douglas F. Gansler will be the guest speaker at the
first annual luncheon honoring the top general counsel in the nation. These prominent
corporate attorneys were named 2013 “Legends in Law” by the Burton Awards program. The
announcement that Attorney General Gansler will participate in the program was made jointly
by Thomas L. Sager, Chair and Les Parrette, Vice‐Chair of the Committee which recognizes the
winning corporate general counsel. The luncheon will be held on June 3, 2013 at the Library of
Congress. The awards ceremonies and Gala will also be held that day.

Douglas F. Gansler is the current Attorney General of Maryland. He was elected in 2006 and re‐
elected in 2010. AG Gansler also served as State Attorney for Montgomery County, Maryland.
He was first elected in 1998 and re‐elected in 2002. Prior to serving as State Attorney, from
1992 until 1998, AG Gansler was an Assistant U.S. Attorney.

He has prosecuted several high‐profile cases including the Beltway Snipers, John Allen
Muhammad and Lee Boyd Malvo. Since taking office as Attorney General, he has focused on
environmental protection, consumer protection, public safety and civil rights.
In 2012, AG Gansler was elected as the President of the National Association of Attorneys
General (NAAG). He currently serves in that capacity. He has also held the position of Chair of
the Democratic Attorneys General Association (DAGA) until becoming President‐Elect at the
NAAG. He also chaired NAAG committees on Youth Access to Alcohol, the Environment and

AG Gansler is a graduate of Yale University. He earned a law degree from the University of
Virginia School of Law. He served as Law Clerk to Hon. John F. McAuliffe, Judge on the Maryland
Court of Appeals.

Thomas Sager and Les Parrette issued a joint statement that said: “We are honored and
delighted that AG Gansler has accepted our invitation and will be the guest speaker at our
luncheon. The Attorney General is one of the true leaders in law enforcement and his
experiences and successes will make for an extremely informative and intriguing presentation.
We thank Bernard Nash from Dickstein Shapiro LLP for making the arrangements.”
The “Legends in Law” winners include: Denise F. Keane, Executive Vice President and General
Counsel, Altria Group, Inc.; Betty A. Whelchel, General Counsel, BNP Paribas; Daniel Troy,
Senior Vice President and General Counsel, GlaxoSmithKline; Eric G. Klein, General Counsel and
Corporate Secretary, Kyocera International, Inc.; J. Michael Wilder, Vice President, General
Counsel and Secretary, Marathon Petroleum Corporation; Edward A. “Ed” Ryan, Executive Vice
President and General Counsel, Marriott International, Inc.; D. Cameron Findlay, Senior Vice
President, General Counsel and Secretary, Medtronic, Inc.; Felix R. Ehrat, PhD, Group General
Counsel, Novartis International AG; Brian Eduardo Cabrera, Vice President, General Counsel and
Secretary, Synopsys, Inc.; and Shari H. Wolkon, Managing Director and General Counsel,
Thomas H. Lee Partners.

The following criteria were used in making the selection of this year’s “Legends in Law:”
Reputation in the legal profession; demonstration of competence in a specialized area of law;
extensive background and experience; complexity and scope of matters handled; success in
global or national issues; and exemplary leadership in law. The winning general counsels were
chosen from nominations received from managing partners in the nation’s 1,000 largest law

The Honorary Board of Directors of the Burton Awards Program includes: Judge Richard Posner,
US Court of Appeals for the 7th Circuit; Judge Alex Kozinski, US Court of Appeals for the 9th
Circuit; Justice Carol A. Corrigan, California Supreme Court; Judge Judith S. Kaye, former Chief
Judge of the New York Court of Appeals; US Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr. (Pennsylvania); US
Senator Michael F. Bennet (Colorado); US Senator John Cornyn (Texas); US Senator Mike Crapo
(Idaho); US Congressman Spencer Bachus (Alabama); Thomas L. Sager, Senior Vice President
and General Counsel for DuPont Legal; and Les Parrette, Senior Vice President, General Counsel
and Compliance Officer for Novelis Inc; Keith C. Wetmore, Chair Emeritus, Morrison & Foerster
LLP; Sabine Curto, Senior Director of Administration, Kirkland & Ellis LLP; Dennis Smith, Former
Senator and Member of the Judiciary Committee, Missouri Legislature; and Stephen R. Mysliwiec, Partner, DLA Piper.


The Burton Awards is funded by the Burton Foundation which is a non‐profit, academic effort
devoted to recognizing and rewarding excellence in the legal profession. Since its inception in
1999, the organization has focused on great achievements in law, including accomplishments
by general counsel, writing, public service and public interest. The program honors partners in
law firms and law school students who use plain, clear and concise language in their writing.


This prominent institution is one of the most celebrated and distinguished libraries in the world.
It was established on April 24, 1800 and since that time has grown to become one of the largest
repositories of books and materials. The Library of Congress functions as both a national library
and as the research arm of the U.S. Congress. It contains more than 32 million catalogued
books and more than 62 million manuscripts.